image preview


2008 SENIOR CLASS GIFT COMMITTEE: Taryn Beaudoin (Rutland, MA), Sarah Campbell (Hollis Center, ME), Joseph Capezza (Natick, MA), Lauren Cimino (Norwalk, CT), Joseph Domaney (Great Barrington, MA), Trevor Hambright (Concord, MA), Jonathon Lopez-Pitts (Barnstable, MA), Jared Neilan (Portsmouth, RI), Christopher Phelps (Belmont, NH), Caitlin Ryan (Cranston, RI), Craig Tetreault (Lincoln, RI), Bennett Turner (Rochester, NH), Alan Waters (Clinton, MA), and Philip Weiss (Saint James, NY).


On Friday, February 1, 2008 President Ronald K. Machtley and Senior Class Gift Committee Cochairs Michael Oliveri ’08 (North Grafton, MA) and Michelle Sobol ’08 (Coventry, CT) announced plans to raise money to refurbish the historic Archway as part of the senior class gift. The Class of 2008 ended up raising $31,000 in support of this important restoration. The project, which was completed during the summer of 2008, included improvements to the walkways on both sides of the Archway. The Archway, which framed the main entrance to South Hall on Bryant’s East Side campus, was the gateway through which all graduates passed on Commencement Day. The wrought-iron arch, dedicated to the Bryant community by the Class of 1968, was moved from the old campus in Providence to Smithfield in 1971. Today it serves as a visible link between the old and new campuses. Tradition dictates that to pass through the Archway before your commencement is bad luck. The Class of 1987 donated the walkways around the Archway to encourage students to honor this tradition.

senior_class_gift_committee2008.jpg (110 kB)
2008 Senior Class Gift Committee